Our God Knows

Habakkuk 3:17-19

” Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

Since our last blog we have become more settled, Praise Him, yet some things have remained difficult. After some of the same frustrations and trials, my heart has allowed me to see in a different light, again Praise Him! If we actually look back to Habakkuk 3:16 we see that trouble is all around and Habakkuk says “yet I wait patiently.” On our recent visit to Uganda, I was able to hear several sermons out of James 1, learning how to go through a trial, and also how to come out victorious on the other side.

During this season of transition for our family I have had some good conversations with the boys, and in trying to teach them God spoke to me as well. Contentment is a hard life lesson no matter where you live or how old you may be. “Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.” I can and should choose Joy in God alone. Sometimes we do not know right off how or why we may end up where we do, but our God does. His ways are higher than our ways. He holds the missing pieces to our puzzle of life and loves watching us place each one with our obedience to him.

After spending some time trying to find a place, I have come alongside my house helper to minister to those in the local district hospital. It is really a beautiful story of how this came about. She came to me with a vision to help the sick that nobody else wanted to care for. In her mind, she was unsure of how it would work or exactly what she could afford, but she felt compelled to help and to share with me. After praying about it, we decided that helping this vision was not only doable, but something I would love to do as well. Last month, we had our first outreach. We handed out two sacks of oranges and 20 kgs of bananas to 5 wards at the district hospital. We both contributed funds and time and it was a total blessing. We will be going back once a month.

Doug has been busy with work. He has visited Malawi the last three weeks and Praise God we will be reunited in Nairobi Sunday! The Water Mission teams in both countries have been a great fit and very welcoming. We are all looking forward to knowing them better. Although he has had to travel a good bit at first, when he is home he gets to work from home more often and that is a nice treat. The boys are finishing up this crazy school year in a couple of weeks and while it seems like it has lasted forever, we can see the light at the end of third and sixth grades! They still have not found any close friends around yet, but they have each other and on most days that is pretty good! 🙂

P1170768

Prayer Points for us this month:

All flights meeting in Nairobi this weekend

Doug will have minor surgery on July 6th in Nairobi.

The hospital ministry to take root and share the love of Jesus with many

Water Projects all over Kenya and Malawi

For growth in the midst of the trials

For Kenya as elections will be soon (We will be traveling out of country during this time)

Thank you for standing with us in battle! God is Faithful! God is enough!

Blessings,

The LawsonTribe4

2 thoughts on “Our God Knows

  1. Hi folks. Just wanted you to know you are prayed for. I have the list the boys gave me, but didn’t know if it needed updating from the states.
    Ron flys home from Kitengela in 3 weeks and I’ll be back sometime in Sept.
    Miss you guys so much. Tell the boys Aunt Ronda said keep the nerf set in the backyard warmed up for me!

    • No updates needed. They have steered clear of asking others for anything off your list. Lol we are always ready for a Nerf battle and look forward to seeing you guys!

Leave a Reply

