New Clothing

“You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by it’s deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” Ephesians 4: 22-24

We are told in Romans that we are not to conform to the world around us. Paul is telling the church of Ephesians here that though they are surrounded by temptation and sin, they must be set apart. We are to “put on” the righteousness of Christ. This is not a one time job, but a daily choice. This past week, as Doug has been studying this passage more closely for preaching, I have been teaching the boys about being set apart. About choosing to be Holy as Christ is Holy and what that looks like. I am of course no expert in this matter, and it has actually helped me to sit back and look at things that I need to do differently.

A new year always calls for changes in our culture, but the truth is that really each new day calls for a choice. The Bible tells us in Joshua 24:15 “Choose this day whom you will serve.” Notice it does not say choose this year. I find that refreshing. In every new year, we all usually have some resolutions that in reality will not last more than a month or two. How refreshing to think that we really only need to choose this each day. Each new day comes with new mercies from our heavenly father and each new day we have a choice to make. Your choice may be to diet, exercise, read your Bible more, or something totally different, but maybe your outcome would be different if you made it a daily choice instead of a resolution from the year.

The LawsonTribe4 has made several resolutions ourselves, as a family and as individuals. We would appreciate your prayers as we try to keep our eyes open to ministry opportunities that God has in store for us this year. Our prayer is that we put on our “New” clothes daily and that we keep our eyes and ears open for what God puts in front of us that day. Pray that we find the right ministry opportunities for our whole family this year and that we do not get discouraged at whatever Satan may do to try and stop the plan that God has, as we all know he tries.

The New Year is going to be a New day by day for the LawsonTribe4. Each day, I hope to Choose that day whom I will serve and as I make that choice, I hope that it rubs off to those two little people that God has entrusted us with named Wyatt and Jonas. This year, I want my choices to impact my family as maybe they never have before. I want to choose each day to clothe myself in Christ righteousness and be all that God wants me to be, as that is so much better than anything I could ever dream up regardless.

Let’s not become callus to the world around us, let’s choose to change the world one day at a time.

Blessings,

LawsonTribe4

2 thoughts on “New Clothing

  1. Thank you ! You are in my prayers every day. May there be many souls come to Jesus this year. My prayer is the same as yours a new commitment every day to be totally surrendered to Him.

Leave a Reply

