Letters From War

Not long ago I missed an event that, oddly enough, I had talked about for a long time. My Mom was able to go through my Mimaw’s house after her passing over a year ago. Though it sounds strange, I looked forward to having a part in this because I knew that within those walls were so many treasures of my family. If walls could talk, I could sit for hours and listen to memories that I have there.  I tell you this story now because it fits with the title of this blog. One of the things I wanted most out of my Mimaw’s house was to read the letters from war that my papa had written. He was always a hopeless romantic and everyone that knew him knew it. He loved like I have never seen another man love. Not just Mimaw, but all of us.

I been thinking lately about what many soldiers and their families must go through. What some of my family went through during WWII and Vietnam. What many people face across the world right now and what America is facing to some degree also. I am writing from battle. It is not always the same type of battle that others have faced, but if we are Christ followers, we all wage war daily against a mighty force. We are called to Stand Firm. We have been studying in Galatians about what this means recently and it has just been on my heart the last few weeks. Just thinking of myself and my family I can come up with many battlefields that I stand on daily. Daily I struggle with the battle of being a servant for Jesus, being a good wife, being a good mom, raising Godly boys, living in another culture, who to help with what, are my kids learning the basics of education, making the most of my time, and some days what are we eating for dinner tonight. (I can now hear all mom’s saying Amen)! The list can go on and on for all of us, but the Bible tells us to Stand Firm, to hold steady to what we know of our God.  The main battlefield we all face in our walk with Christ is standing firm in the face of all of these adversities. Paul tells us to, “Stand Firm and do not let yourselves be burdened again.” I like the word again. God knows that our struggles are daily. God knows that we need the reminder to stand firm daily.

As much love as I know my papa’s writings from war will reflect, I also know I will probably find some hints of frustration, despair, and maybe even defeat in his words. That is so true of myself and probably of you too as you write your own letters from whatever battle you are facing now.  There are many days when I feel all of these emotions and more and then there are days when I choose to remember what we are told in 2 Chronicles 20:17, “You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.’” We do not fight our battles alone when we are in Christ. We need to look to the deliverance that only God can give.

I think that God is teaching me that no matter what battle I am in, I am not alone. No matter what I face in life, our God is faithful. When I feel defeated and worn, He is there fighting for me. When I feel like the battle has lost all hope, He assures me once again that He has won the victory. I am more than a conqueror in Christ Jesus and so are you!  Stand firm knowing that Hell has already been defeated.

I end with beautiful words from Matt Redman:

Scars and struggles on the way
But with joy our hearts can say
Never once did we ever walk alone
Carried by Your constant grace
Held within Your perfect peace
Never once, no, we never walk alone

Choosing Joy amidst the war,

The LawsonTribe4

2 thoughts on “Letters From War

  1. thanks for the reminder. you never cease to amaze me. I thank God for you daily. we are so proud of you and Doug. b safe. We love you

Leave a Reply

