Redeemed and Delivered

Galatians 5:7-9 “You were running a good race. Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth? That kind of persuasion does not come from the one who calls you. A little yeast works its way through the whole batch of dough.”

It has been a while. Have you ever been in a place where you think “what has come over me?” These verses spoke to me the other day and I love how God brings stuff to light when we seek the truth. Paul says to the people here, “What happened?” “You were on the right track, what has gotten into you?” I felt like God has said that to me lately. To be honest the last several weeks I have struggled to run a good race. What’s worse is we should never strive to run a good race, we should strive to run “The” good race. That race that God has set before each one of us. You know your race looks different than mine, right? It looks different because we all have different roles in different seasons, but it should have a main focus in common: Christ.

The last several weeks some things have happened that had put my focus elsewhere. Those things had cut in on me and kept me from seeing and obeying other things that God had put before me. I cannot name specific things that I feel like I missed the boat totally, but I know that opportunities have slipped by because my focus had been persuaded by “others.” Of course I am not blaming them for my lack of focus because I chose to loose focus on all that Christ has laid before me and focus of what Satan wanted me to see. I know who cut in on me, the same devil that cuts in on you.

Every Christ follower goes through similar situations where life happens, a curve ball is thrown, and the bad yeast takes over. The stumbling block hits us hard and we fall. For me, life has just been a whirlwind lately, trying to finish a school year for my kids and keeping up with a whole other school year for so many other kids. Trying to keep up with things around the house and with things going on in the village church also. Somewhere in the midst of all that, I lost site of the purpose I have: To love as Jesus loves me. The last few weeks I have just felt like I did not have it in me and I found these verses. This feeling does not come from the One who called me. I was reminded that I can choose to infect the yeast with Joy that spreads, not moodiness and a poor attitude. It only takes a small amount of a change in my outlook to affect everyone around me and that makes me want to try and stay positive.

I think it is okay to go through periods like this as God is trying to do a work in our heart. I think he truly sends us through fires so that we come out on the other side stronger in Him. As it is said, it is nothing that I can do that earns me anything in Heaven. It is only faith in Jesus that allows me salvation. It is by His grace that I have been set free and that is worth running whatever race is put before us.

So what or who has cut into you? You were running your good race so well and all of the sudden a road block came and like me, you did not know what to do with it. Remember that a little love will work itself through the whole dough as Jesus molds us into who He wants us to be. Remember that Jesus is worth whatever it takes to pull you back into the refinery of being formed by the master potter. We all struggle and fall, we all also have grace and mercy to pick us back up. Sometimes the road is long and winding. It may even seem as no end is in sight, but Jesus will meet you there. He will guide you and strengthen you when you feel like you can’t go any farther. That is actually the place He is trying to get you too, total dependence on Him alone. It is then that the race continues and it is then that God gets all the glory He deserves.

I thank God today that He is picking me up off this long road and growing me to be more dependent on Him alone. I am thankful that during this time of feeling down and out, the Lord has still been speaking to me through His word, because though I felt defeated somewhat, I did not stop seeking Him. Wherever you are right now, God wants to also pick you up and speak comfort to your soul. He wants you to seek him in the good and seek him through the bad. He wants to deliver you from the winding road and set your feet upon the rock of his grace and mercy. I hope you let him. 🙂

Blessings,
LawsonTribe4

Leave a Reply

