A New Me for the New Year

I have been thinking about this blog for a while trying to decide what I could possibly say about 2013 and this new year that I know will be filled with even more Joy. How could I possibly tell it all. Then one of my favorite songs from the Talley Trio came to mind. I have been singing it for several days now in my mind. “I Cannot Tell it All.” The words are so simple: God’s been so good to me, I cannot tell it all; He’s opened doors for me, I cannot tell it all; He’s made a way for me, I cannot tell it all. That is just a few lines but it is so true for our family this past year and I know there is more to come. God has truly been so good to us that there is no way we can tell it all.

Most of you already know that 2013 was a great year for the Lord moving in our hearts to be missionaries. At the start of this year, we finally had a clue of where that may be and it was confirmed in Feb. 2013. God closed many doors for us in 2012 and opened many doors for us in 2013. I am so fortunate for such Godly friends and family who prayed with us through last year and helped us get to Africa. God has made a way for us to be right where he wants us. I think back to planning to get here and how overwhelmed I was to sell the house and most everything in it and also how overwhelming it was to say goodbye for a while to a life that we had known for so long. God granted us so much peace and reassurance through “The Big Move” in 2013. We saw His hand every step of the way. He was even working to prepare the fields here in Africa for us to come right along. God gave us great friends the first week we arrived. So many of you had prayed for just that, especially for the boys and it was just like He came down and dropped this precious family (The Fish’s) here a month before us and ordained our meeting. They were not even suppose to be living in Jinja town right then. That is how Great God is when He cares for His sheep. The Lord also ordained a home school group in the area to start up right after our arrival. All the families have been here less than a year and we all have kids of various ages but they get along great together. God gave us so much when we arrived in Africa to reassure us that we were right where He wanted us. I could go on and on but….I cannot tell it all. 🙂

For 2014, Doug has started a sermon series entitled “A New You for A New Year”. We are all becoming a new creation in Christ every day. The bible tells us in Ephesians 4 to “put on a new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” In 2 Corinthians 5 we are told that if we are in Christ “the old has gone and the new has come!” Now I know for some of us, we think since we have been saved a while that our new has already come and while that may be true in some ways, it does not mean that “The New” needs to stop coming. Praise God that I am a work in progress. I am working to be more righteous and holy, in the eyes of my Lord, and to me that means new things daily! I am so grateful for what just these first few weeks of 2014 have already shown me. As you know, I started a ladies bible study in December of last year with the village ladies of Mutai. We met this week for our second study and the attendance almost doubled. 17 ladies showed up. This means that about 15 husbands allowed these ladies to leave the home and somebody helped take care of other children for these ladies to be gone. To me this is Huge, to God this is planned and small compared to what He wants to do. I have attended and taught many bible studies, but none have prepared me for what i know God has in store for not just these ladies but for me as well. What is great, is no American bible study fits these women. They are already living daily our “what if”. What they need and long for is a deeper walk and how to become a better disciple. I love that God can take my faults and fears and somehow begin to shape me into a masterpiece for His glory. He can use my Engineer of a husband not only to give people clean water but equip him to become a pastor in the village. He can use our resources and multiply them to be able to help people get bibles and help some be better equipped to master a skill and make money for school fees or food. I marvel at His craftsmanship of all those who decide to boldly follow Him to unknown places. By the way, that might be your neighbor’s house.

My prayer for this new year is that God will continue to challenge my family and all of you to welcome His “new” no matter what it looks like and to be blessed by how you and I are changed. My prayer is for these ladies to become sisters in Christ that learn how to help and pray for each other as my sisters in Christ do for me daily. My prayer is that you decide what can change in you too to be more righteous and holy like our creator God. I pray that you will join us in prayer for the following things:

1) The water Projects going on and the staff of Water Missions in ALL 10 countries we serve including the US and disaster relief efforts in Haiti.

2) The village of Mutai and Christ The Foundation Churches all over Uganda. (There are 7)

3) For the ladies in this group. That we will all grow in Christ together and be better equipped to disciple Uganda.

4) For the continued health and safety of our family. We have been blessed thus far minus a few colds and some Larvae! (most of you do not want to know)!! Praise God I am a nurse!

5) Pray that our eyes, ears, and hearts stayed focused on God and that we always strive to know that He is always so good, we will never be able to tell it all!

Blessings becoming the New You in the New Year,

LawsonTribe4

I need to also post a picture of Kiley Seaver. She is one of the girls I posted about in my Dollar for Africa post with Lilly. Kiley sold scarves for clean water. I do not want to leave her smile out of the equation. She looks so happy serving the Lord! Thank you again to Lilly and Kiley!

Image

3 thoughts on “A New Me for the New Year

  1. You and your family are in our prayers. I know 2013 has been a busy rewarding year, the best is yet to come. I love you all and continue to lift you up to our Heavenly Father. Sending big hugs!

Leave a Reply

