Because we love Him

I was reading in my quiet time this morning and a scripture just leaped out at me like never before and it has stuck to me all day. I wanted to share it with you as it applies so greatly to the ministry that we are involved in here.

“Because He loves me,” says the Lord, ” I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalm 91:14-15.

Along with this verse, I also read a devotional that started out with this (my additions in parenthesis): “This is a time of abundance in your life. Your cup runneth over with blessings. After plodding uphill for many weeks (months), you are now traipsing through lush meadows drenched in warm (really HOT) sunshine. I want you to enjoy to the full this time of ease and refreshment.(maybe not the ease part but…) I delight in providing it for you.”  WOW!! We have journeyed for over a year to be in this spot that God has called us to and I have actually felt a little guilty that we like it so much, but He calls us to delight in His rich blessings because He delights in giving it. (and compared to most here, even at our lowest point, our cup runneth over).

Here in Uganda, as well as other countries, there are so many uncertainties and trials that are not normal for us in America. Sickness is the normal here and death is everywhere. Driving here is insane since there are no signs or no real traffic laws. Just today, one of our Ugandan friends was driving and someone just ran out in front of the vehicle. He hit him of course and I have learned now that if you happen to hit someone here you do not stop. WHAT???? You keep driving. “If” it was bad enough (in your opinion) then you stop at the closest police department. This rule is because you will probably be mobbed and beaten if you stop. The person you hit has to lay there until someone comes to take them to a hospital provided that they even live and in some cases that was the point. So as I write this post a dear friend has been in custody most of the day. He has been released now but has to return on Friday. Please pray for him. As I process this news for myself, I am in shock for many reasons that need not be repeated to most of you, but here it is normal everyday life. It got me thinking of my verse today…..”Because he loves me” saith the Lord, “I will rescue him.”

Through the everyday life of living and working here Doug has had the privilege to serve with an elect group at Water Missions Uganda. This office really has a great group of workers that work long hours away from their families because they believe in what they are doing and in the God for which they are doing it. We are blessed that Doug does not have to be away from us so much on overnight stays, but he works very hard and long for the cause of giving people clean water. Some of you may not know the basic platform at WMU. They have a team of technicians and engineers along with a community development team and two pastors. The goal is to provide clean water to villages and in the process teach them some business ethics and share the gospel. This involves a lot of follow up and maintenance. The guys do a great job but as expected, some water units stop working and it takes hard work and money to fix them.  Doug has been working on several projects recently that have had to be shut down for not working properly. In America they would just send out a boil water advisory for possibly 24 hours and then “poof” the water is good again………well as with most things, it is just not that simple here. When a system is shut down people have to go weeks sometimes months without clean water. They do not boil it to make it clean, they just go back to what they did before and a lot will get sick and many will even die during this time span. The job at hand is truly life or death to many. Water is a basic need and we are blessed to be a part of a group that believes in not only that, but also in the one the brings Living Water to broken lives that are in need of so much physically and spiritually. They are in need of the rescuer that saves me because I choose to love him……They need my Jesus that will protect and deliver them in their times of desperation…….They need the salvation that comes with my Lord and hopefully in the process of finding this, they can also find that the clean water we help provide is a rich blessing from the Lord and that their cup too runneth over with a Joy that can only come from the Father.

Does your cup runneth over? If you would like to know more about the work we do here or how you can partner with us to help give clean and living water please feel free to email us at lawsontribe4@gmail.com. You can also give online to our personal ministry as a one time donor or a monthly supporter at http://mtairybaptist.com/ or you can get involved directly with the water ministry at https://my.watermissions.org/donate. If you donate on the Water Missions page please consider designating your gift for Uganda and even writing Kayanja or Busuyi in the comment line. Please consider joining our support team and allowing God to bless you through this ministry the way he blesses us daily here!

Link to pics

One thought on “Because we love Him

Leave a Reply

