Settling In

Hello all,

We are getting settled now and I wanted to just give an update of our travels and how things are going at present. I can not believe that it is has been just over a week since we left. The times have moved so quickly but have been so eventful. I will try not to repeat too much for those who have also kept up on fb but some things you will have to endure this time.

Our flights were great. All of them. We were a little nervous over the travel alerts but things went really smooth at all locations and we even toured Dubai while there. We saw the tallest building in the world and we went to the Atlantis Hotel, which is massive and btw Aquaman does not live there that we know of!(We asked)!  Thank you for the prayers that went up for the visa lines in Uganda. They were answered. We only waited maybe 25 minutes. The boys did absolutly wonderful on all flights and in airports. (Minus a little trouble with our Chima guys going into the walkway of almost everyone)! The airport in Uganda was very funny with all of us trying to get our 8 huge pieces of luggage along with carryons and backpacks to the car waiting for us. (That needed the picture)!

Once in Uganda we had a long drive to Jinja, our new home, but we made it with little daylight to spare. We met Three of our guards, one is on vacation. Two are really great and speak English well. The boys like them best since they play soccer with them! The other one is nice just not very good with English so harder to talk to. We found lots of interesting science around here so far. Lizards live with us, a lot of them! I am rethinking the house maid since I have lizard poop on my walls and I am thinking I really do not want to fool with that. HAHA but really not joking all that much! We have ants everywhere but you have to just learn to control them because I do not think we will ever fully win that battle. I can deal with the lizards and ants and lots of other things I guess but PTL I have not seen a snake and I am thrilled over that! God is Great! (In all things, but definitely this snake issue). We have a tree full of bats in the front yard. It is just nature study everyday around here.

We have eaten lots of rice and I made my first pot of beans last night. They actually were not all the way ready at supper but my wonderful husband ate them and thought they were great (or at least he said they were). We have had some veggies from the market and been out to eat several times as well. The boys are loving the rice diet for the moment since that is one of their favorites. I am sure it will get old eventually. Breakfast is the hardest meal for us probably as there is not a lot to choose from really.

We had a great church service this Sunday. It was a dear moment for me with the Lord. We were at Acacia Baptist, where a lot of the missionaries attend here. It is probably 70% Ugandan and has a southern baptist minister. Wyatt had been bitten by a mosquito that early morning sometime and we were all a little nervous. I had been praying over some scripture that morning and at church we sang “How Great Thou Art.” I felt with all my heart that the Lord was telling me to let it go. He had it under control. That song is very special to me. It was one of my papas favorite songs and was played at my wedding for my mima to be seated in his honor. I can not sing that song to this day without tears and well, as tears came this time I felt the Lord comforting me with this dear song!

Doug has three days of work under his belt now and I have three days of being at home all day. It is a little weird that you just can’t get in the car and go visit or play or eat or anything for that matter but we are doing well. I am waiting on school books to be able to start school so for now our days are filled with just giving God glory in what we can find to do. I start the morning usually with ant patrol and then I get the laundry in. We have a washer but no dryer so I have to hang them inside the house to dry. You can not line dry outside or bugs will get in your clothes and lay eggs. I know sounds great, so we just deal with the clothes hanging inside. We have a nice room off the kitchen for clothes and the extra lines are in our bedroom. I have to start that early since they need all day to dry. We have plenty of time to pray and read and sing praises from our computer song base. It is great to hear Wyatt just singing loudly to the songs that are in his head, even after the music is off. He is gonna love music like his mama I think! We play lots of board games and cards, I even finished a book in the last two days. For those who know me well, know that is impressive!

The boys are doing great and loving it here so far. They love having their legos and some of their things of home but….seem to be adjusting well. They are having the hardest time adjusting to the time difference. They are hard to put to sleep at night. Over all, I think the first week has been great. God has been with us and we can feel it. We thank you all for the prayers over our family and can’t wait to keep you posted on what’s next. Here are some pics for review.

Blessings,

LawsonTribe

Airplanes are fun!

Airplanes are fun!

The plane ride over.

The plane ride over.

Swimming in Dubai

Swimming in Dubai

Aquarium inside the Dubai mall

Aquarium inside the Dubai mall

Tallest Building in the world

Tallest Building in the world

The Atlantis Hotel in Dubai

The Atlantis Hotel in Dubai

 

Amazing water show at Dubai Mall

Amazing water show at Dubai Mall

Dubai Family Picture
Dubai Family Picture

We are otw to our new home

We are otw to our new home

you know you are in not in US when kid can ride up front on a lap.

you know you are in not in US when kid can ride up front on a lap.

Our new room with our old Legos!

Our new room with our old Legos!

Our first dinner.....Rice

Our first dinner…..Rice

one of our many lizards that live here.

one of our many lizards that live here.

This is an ant nest. Never seen anything like that before.

This is an ant nest. Never seen anything like that before.

Bats, Bats, and more Bats

Bats, Bats, and more Bats

The bats swarming above.

The bats swarming above.

futbol (Soccer) with the guard Michael.

futbol (Soccer) with the guard Michael.

Doug's first attempt at driving.

Doug’s first attempt at driving.

First van ride in Jinja.

First van ride in Jinja.

first ride.

first ride.

